The Craft Project

Creating My Own Manifesto

Well the season of reflection is fully upon us – doubly so for me with the intense period of transition and self-imposed reflection time which I am currently engaged in.  New Year’s Eve is almost upon us, meaning that very shortly I will have to lay out my New Year’s resolutions.  I decided this year to put some serious thought into those…so much so, that I have developed a multi-stage process to actually decide upon them.  Stage one happened today – my manifesto (at least my manifesto for the upcoming year).

Those of you who, like me, are yoga enthusiasts may be familiar with Lululemon’s manifesto (for those of you who aren’t you can check it out here).  I’ve always admired their manifesto – for it’s content, for the fact that it represents the guiding principles of a corporation, and from a graphic design standpoint.  In fact, I admire it so much, that I used it as inspiration for creating my own.  I’ll be using this as a set of guiding principles for developing this year’s resolutions, and as a tool for making those resolutions a reality in 2011.  The exercise of creating this was very grounding – I recommend  everyone to take the time to complete a similar process.

Oh and I need to give a shout out to Curly Girl, J.R.R. Tolkien, Dr. Seuss, Emma Goldman, and Douglas Adams for inspiring some of the language.

4 comments

  1. I love this, craftchick! I’m so glad to see our manifesto could inspire you to create your own. I hope to hear more about the goals you have for 2011 and the progress you make in heading towards them.

    Cheers,
    Laura
    GEC Online Community

  2. Kristi

    I saw the link for your manifesto on a post you left on the lulu website and I am just blown away craftchick! I try to live by lulu’s manifesto everyyday and yours is equally as motivational and amazing. Thanks for sharing!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 164 other followers

