The Craft Project

Spun and Spun

So I finished spinning the skein of yarn I’ve been working on this week (the other projects are on-going).  I’ve gotten much more efficient since my first attempt at spinning – although I did learn a new important lesson: If the top of your drop spindle goes flying across the room and you can’t get it back on because you have too much yarn built up on the spindle – cut the yarn!  You can easily re-attach it (spin the two ends together) once you’ve spun your next section of yarn.  What you cannot easily do is keep spinning if you haven’t cut the yarn – if you go this route you end up tangled in yarn and knots and find yourself attached to a chair, the couch, a spindle, the leg of a tv tray – unable to move.  I repeat – cut the yarn!

I’m fortunate that the circumference of the back of my dining room chairs is exactly one yard.  This allows me to figure out how much yarn is in the current skein I am spinning.  In this case the answer is 125 yards – I’m quite proud actually.

yarn around chair

The yarn wrapped around the chair back.

After I soaked the skein I hung it to dry in the bathroom.  I hosted a girl’s night last night for my friend Denise – we were starting her wedding planning at it.  Over the course of the evenning quite a few of my girlfriends noticed the yarn in the bathroom and commented on it.  The general consensus arriving from the comments was that I should start selling my yarn locally.  I have to admit I am tempted – but to do that I would want to be doing all my own dying as well.  I’ve found an online source where I can get the un-dyed fibres – and in this case I mean an amazing range of fibres (camel, sheep, bamboo, hemp, soy silk, etc., etc., etc.).  I’m going to order a few and try out the process from dyeing through spinning (including mixing different fibres together) and then assess if I might make a go out of selling some yarns on the side.  I’ll keep you posted.

yarn hanging to dry

Yarn hanging to dry

yarn

Up close and personal with the yarn (with thread separating the yarn to keep it from tangling)

Leave a Reply

