The Craft Project

World Wide Spin in Public Day

I woke up Saturday morning to my hand dyed fibre dry and ready to work with.  My first thought was that there wasn’t really that much (dyeing is a lot of work, and you want to make a lot of yarn out of something that takes that much effort), but that thought quickly drifted away as I started to split the fibre into roving.  The fibre was beautiful to split, it pulled apart with hardly any effort at all – and it just kept splitting.  By the time I was done our entire couch was covered a foot deep in roving, and I was set to go to World Wide Spin in Public Day (WWSPD).

The Northern Fibres Guild organized Whitehorse’s event for WWSPD.  They are a diverse set of fibre artists including weavers, spinners, knitters, and felters, who come together once a month to share their craft (if you want to join them, they meet at 7 pm on on the second Tuesday of the month at the TC Richards Building on Third Ave. and Steele St.).

For Saturday’s event they set up shop at the Canada Games Centre with a range of fibre artists filtering through as the day went on.  While I was there, two spinning wheels were going – one spinning silk as fine as thread, one plying two strands of yarn together, someone was carding a giant basket full of mountain goat fur that they had collected from where it caught on shrubs in the alpine (a very slow process) so that it could be spun, and someone was knitting two socks on the same needles at the same time (it was the first time I’d ever seen anyone do that before).  And I was spinning my sparkly blue and green wool on my drop spindle.  And it is very sparkly – lots of kids came to a halt in front of our tables with the words “Look Mommy, it’s sparkly!”

The event was definately a success, and I plan to keep an eye on the Northern Fibres Guild in the future, as I had a lot of fun spinning in public.  And now I need to work my way through the rest of that roving.

Hard at work at World Wide Spin in Public Day

My drop spindle spinning roving into wool

One comment

Leave a Reply

