The Craft Project

Buttons for Healing

Fabric covered buttons that I created

This is probably going to seem a bit of a carthatic blog post.  Tomorrow I defend my masters thesis.  It’s been a long road, with more delays than I would like to count, and as stressfull as facing down the defense is, it will be wonderful to see an end to the process and move on (in reality I moved on a long time ago, so it will be nice to tie up the final loose end).  The problem that I’m facing at this exact moment in time is that while meeting with my supervisor this morning, and going over the presentation I will be giving bright and early tomorrow morning, he let me know that one of my committee members thinks he found a mistake late last night in my thesis – a relatively big mistake that has to this point gone unnoticed and will make things hard (to say the least) tomorrow.  It will be coming up tomorrow, in front of an audience of friends, mentors, members of my university department, and interested individuals, and there’s absolutely nothing I can do about it except walk in and face it.  It makes what already felt like a stressful and scary experience into something more akin to a firing sqaud.

I returned to my hotel room after my meeting with my supervisor determined to take a deep breath, keep studying so that I could be as prepared for the morning as possible and not let it phase me, as it was out of my control anyways.  In reality – I cried instead.  Recognizing that studying was a lost cause, and needing to do something positive I turned on the television to watch Eat, Pray, Love and began to craft.  It’s amazing how healing creating something with your hands can be.  I created a set of fabric covered buttons, which I will likely use in jewelry design in future.  I’d like to share them with you here.

My little treasure trove of buttons that allowed me to begin to feel a bit more grounded

To create your own, cut cicles of fabric approximately twice the diameter of a shank button.  Running stich around the outside edge of your fabric circle with embroidery floss leaving two long ends.  Place the button face down on the back of the fabric circle and pull the embroidery floss tight, allowing the fabric to cover the button.  Tie off with a tight double knot.

After finishing the buttons I am feeling more balanced – I know that somehow I’ll make it through tomorrow morning.  Wish me luck.

3 comments

  1. joanne

    I wish you luck with your thesis. My son defended his thesis approx. 3 yrs. ago, and it was a joyous and happy day. He is now a Professor of History at a local University, we couldn’t be prouder of him if we tried. He has accomplished so much along with his very supportive wife, and young son. It probably took about 10 years in total to receive his education, but it is really paying off now.

Leave a Reply

