The Craft Project

IPod Art

My first attemp at ipod art.

The other day, after I finished my thesis defense, I got a new ipod touch.  Tyler has had an ipod touch for a long time, and I’ve always been a bit jealous of all of the exciting things he could do with his ipod.  I was also always frustrated that he filled his ipod with apps that he liked – including lots of games – but wouldn’t let me fill it up with all the arts and crafts apps that just looked so exciting.  So it was very exciting for me to sit down yesterday and pick out a small set of applications I’ve been dying to try out.  Because the new ipod touches have built in cameras and video cameras (it’s Tyler’s turn to be jealous of my toy now), I picked out a few apps that would help me do digital art (think digital mixed media).  After sending Tyler off to Vancouver this morning (he defends his masters on Monday – I’m so proud), and spending the day outside with my dad and the family dog, I curled up on my couch to try out my new toys.  And wow are they fun (and easy – in particular they make Photoshop look even harder now).  I’m still working on how to import the high resolution versions off my ipod, so you’ll have to excuse the less-than-ideal image quality of some of these shots, but it will at least give you some sense of the fun I had.

A photo I took with my ipod of some cool clouds out my living room window. I applied a cracked filter from the app Pic Grunger.

I changed the photo's opacity and added text using Type Drawing. The text repeats the phrase "the walls are tumbling down".

I took a picture using my ipod of an old fashioned image of Alice in Wonderland I had in a book. I cut it out and layered it into my creation using Juxtaposer.

I returned the image to Type Drawing and added in a repeating quote from the poet and artist e. e. cummings "it takes courage to grow up and become who you really are".

I used the program Brushes to blur out a portion of the image.

For the final step I took a photo using my ipod of some beautiful paper I had in my studio. I then cut a flower out of that image and layered it into my art work using Juxtaposer, giving the final image that you see here and at the start of this blog post.

4 comments

  1. BJ

    I’m impressed! Looks like lots of fun. I’ve not advanced to the iPods with apps yet, but your post has me thinking about it. Thanks for sharing!

  2. Pingback: Feedback for My E-Book « The Craft Project

  3. Pingback: Alice ATC’s « The Craft Project

Leave a Reply

