The Craft Project

The Ant’s Revenge

Some of you may remember from my New Year’s Resolutions that I pledged to take the plunge and try to submit a design to Threadless.  For those of you unfamiliar with Threadless, you should really check it out.  It allows designers from around the world to submit designs for t-shirts.  All Threadless members can then rate submissions – the most popular ones becoming t-shirts.  It has become a phenomenon unto itself – they now make art prints, laptop computer case designs, water bottles, etc.; they have their own gallery shows; they partner with artists, designers, corporations, and organizations around the world; they have a huge online community – you can tell I’m a fan (if you want to learn more you should check out their brand new book that just came out).

So today I’m taking the first step to seeing that resolution through.  I just submitted the design at the top of this post to their critique gallery.  Here members of the Threadless community can offer advice to improve the design before you fully put it into the running and commit to hitting the submit button.  I’d love for all of you to give feedback and ideas as well (you need to sign up for the Threadless community to do so).  You can critique the design here.  I’ll be working with the design over the rest of the week based on feedback I receive…and then if I get enough positive reviews I’ll hit submit!

“When I was in high school my next-door neighbors had a son with an penchant for terrorizing insects. I used to catch him all the time on the pavement in front of the house burning ants with a magnifying glass or ripping the legs off of spiders. I could never convince him to stop – not even when I threatened that the ants would some day get revenge. I would like to dedicate this design to him.”

Leave a Reply

