The Craft Project

Turning Junk Mail Into Art

I’ve always been frustrated with the amount of junk mail that comes through my mailbox, especially since there doesn’t seem to be a way to avoid it (at least stickers on my mailbox asking for no junk mail and discussions with postal delivery people has not slackened the tide).  So today I decided to start a project where I turn junk mail into art pieces.

I took a few stiffer pieces of junk mail and glued them together to create a canvas of sorts.  I painted over it with gesso and then used ink to draw several cats on the canvas (I was sketching cats the other day and the personality of these three made it vital to capture them in something bigger than just my sketchbook).  Check back later this week for a post where I finish the piece using charcoal and acrylic (or at least that’s the plan at the moment).

One comment

  1. Pingback: The Cats Come Out to Play « The Craft Project

Leave a Reply

