The Craft Project

The Cats Come Out to Play

So I had a great crafting date with my friend Meagan this morning – she was making a sweet fox out of felt and I took the time to finish my painting of cats on junk mail that I started a couple of days ago.  I worked in acrylic paint, charcoal, and ink to finish this up and I’m really happy with how it turned out.  So much so that I think I will continue and put together a whole series of junk-mail-based paintings.  Tyler suggested I finish this up by mounting the finished product on a wood block cut to match the shape of the piece – I like the idea so I think I’ll have to pay a visit to my father and get his advice on the best way forward.

4 comments

  1. Deb Groom

    This is just fabulous. I can see why you were so eager to preserve these sketches and bring them to life. They are so animated and the unusual shape seems just perfect for this painting. I know that if I saw this in a show I wouldn’t be able to leave without it. Great work and creativity.

  2. Pingback: Tweets that mention The Cats Come Out to Play « The Craft Project -- Topsy.com

  3. Pingback: Adding to the Junk Mail Menagerie « The Craft Project

Leave a Reply

