The Craft Project

E is for Ernest Who Choked on a Peach

If you are among the select few who recognize the words, E is for Ernest who choked on a peach, than you have likely been lucky enough to have read the Gashlycrumb Tinies by Edward Gorey at some point in your history.  Edward Gorey ranks near the top of my favourite authors and illustrators of all time list and I consider the Gashlycrumb Tinies to be his best work.  The Gashlycrumb Tinies is an alphabet book that outlines the untimely (and sometimes truly unlikely) demises of 26 children.  This probably sounds very macabre (and in truth it is), but it’s also gloriously funny (if you like dark humour that is).  If you’ve never read it, you can check it out here.  Now that you have a sense of how much I love this book you can better appreciate how excited I was when I found out that Satmpmaz2000 was hosting  a series of artist trading card (ATC) swaps on Swap Bot this year in honour of the Gashlycrumb Tinies.  The concept is that for each swap artists will create a single ATC based on one line of text from the book.  By the time the swap series is complete everyone will have a full set of 26 ATC’s created by different artists re-creating the whole story.  I found out a little late this was going on (as you can see above I’m starting in at E) but luckly make-up swaps will be happening throughout the year for people like me who have missed a few letters.  I dropped my completed ATC in the mail today and am now excitedly waiting for the card from my swap partner to arrive.

I’ve been enjoying swapping so much that I’m considering in the near-ish future hosting my first swap.  I’m open to suggestions if any of you have ideas.

3 comments

  1. Pingback: A is for Amy « The Craft Project

Leave a Reply

