The Craft Project

Here Ye, Here Ye: Amber is Officially an Artist!

It was a big day today.  Today I wrapped up the finished print of Lost in Wonderland, put on my down jacket, my toque and mitts, and I walked two blocks down the street to Arts Underground.  That simple trip changed everything – with that seemingly set of inconsequential actions I went from secretly wanting to be an artist to officially becoming an artist.  My piece will be part of a show that starts next week (I’ll try and get a picture of the gallery to share with all of you once the show officially opens).  To say that I’m surrounded by a happy glow at the moment would be an understatement.

It was a bit of a jagged journey to get to this serene moment, full of some serious ups and downs.  I need to give serious props to Canada on Canvas for their incredibly efficient and professional service – the silk printing looks amazing.  That said I think from now on I’ll either be printing on canvas and stretching my pieces for shows, or hanging my silk prints like Tyler plans to do for his upcoming show (I’ll be sharing the insider view of the preparations for that with all of you next week), simply so that I never have to do battle with a matte board cutter ever again (my thumb is cut open with a gash that runs its entire length at the moment…it looks like a have a mini cast built of band-aids).

It was all worth it though.  As I sit here quietly dreaming of my own show I know that I’m one giant step further than I have ever been before to making that a reality.  Thank you to all of you for the support and encouragement that have brought me this far in such a short period of time – I couldn’t have done it without all of you.

6 comments

  1. Pingback: Scrawl on the Wall « The Craft Project

  2. Pingback: Behind the Scenes of a Photography Exhibit « The Craft Project

  3. Pingback: The Show Opens « The Craft Project

Leave a Reply

