The Craft Project

Celebrating the 100th Anniversary of International Women’s Day

It’s a big day today – the 100th anniversary of International Women’s Day – and I wanted to find a way to honour the event.  After giving it some serious thought I decided on creating a set of three art pieces to honour today and bring attention to it within at least my own small circle.  Some of you have seen the first steps of two of those pieces on my backgrounds post (the third background in that post was used to create part of Denise’s wedding shower present), although none of you have yet seen the background that the third piece was created on.  I created three stylized girls for the project and tied them to messages that seemed to fit both them and the day they were created to honour.  I set them out during my Mardis Gras party tonight (am I the only one who sees the irony of Mardis Gras and International Women’s Day sharing the same date) which stirred up lots of conversations amongst my guests, and now I would like to share them with all of you.  Happy International Women’s Day!

One comment

Leave a Reply

