The Craft Project

What’s A Zentangle???

I have recently been introduced to the art form of zentangles.  For those of you out there who think I’ve just made up a word to see how many of you will catch me in the act, I will elucidate.  Zentangles is an art form that makes use of repetitive patterns.  It’s meant to be easy and relaxing, allowing creativity to flow and intentionally shifting focus and perspective (I can attest to the fact that it works).  The good people at zentangle.com describe it as:

Zentangle is an easy to learn method of creating beautiful images from repetitive patterns. It is a fascinating new art form that is fun and relaxing. It increases focus and creativity. Zentangle provides artistic satisfaction and an increased sense of personal well being. Zentangle is enjoyed by a wide range of skills and ages and is used in many fields of interest.  We believe that life is an art form and that Zentangle is an elegant metaphor for deliberate artistry in life.

Apparently there is a method to follow when creating zentangles – I don’t actually know what it is following my perpetual preference to just throw myself in and figure it out as I go along, but if you are the methodical type I’m sure Google will provide you with answers.  What I do know is that I had lots of fun creating my first zentangle piece, and will probably create more in the future.  It’s my intention to turn this piece into inchies, although I’m loathe to cut in up until I have something to mount the inchies on immediately (I feel like I need to keep them in the right order in this case).  What do you think?

5 comments

  1. Very cool! Great job… I’ve been a fan of zentangles for several years, ever since I learned about them in a Club Scrap workshop class. I think yours is the first time I’ve seen white-on-black, rather than black on white, so kudos! I recommend signing up for the newsletters offered by Zentangle.com; plus there are many videos available on YouTube, etc.

    Be sure to post what your finished inchies look like! I love those, too–hosted a few swaps of them…

  2. Pingback: Swapping Inchies « The Craft Project

  3. Pingback: Creating the Inchies « The Craft Project

  4. Pingback: Creativity Forum #2, Zentangling and other pathways to art and health! | Students Guide to Healthy Living

Leave a Reply

