The Craft Project

Invitation

I broke my shoulder the other day.  I won’t burden you with all of the gruesome details (but if you want the gruesome details you can check out the x-ray picture below).  Let’s just say my mountain bike bit me and I have never been in so much pain before (and this is coming from a girl who has broken 17 bones, dislocated 3 shoulders, and 3rd degree sprained her ankle in three spots at once).  And of course it was my right shoulder, so among the many things I can’t do (shower, drive, tie shoes, wear anything with straps or sleeves) is art.

That fact was depressing me…and I was going a bit stir crazy to boot with no activity…and so I decided to see how the world of left-hand art would treat me.  I started off with a game of left-handed Pictionary with a group of friends last night and when that was a success, moved on to painting.  The painting went surprisingly well.  I’ve been meaning to create a piece based on my favourite poem in the world, Shel Silverstein’s Invitation for the door to the studio for some time and this proved to be the moment.  For those of you who have not read the poem it reads:

Invitation

If you a dreamer, come in,

If you are a dreamer, a wisher, a liar,

A hope-er, a pray-er, a magic bean buyer…

I you’re a pretender, come sit by my fire

For we have some flax-golden tales to spin.

Come in!

Come in!

~Shel Silverstein

 

Leave a Reply

