The Craft Project

From Icing to Owls

I continued my quest this week to bone-up on and practice my cake designs skills in preparation for the slightly intimidating task of creating my brother Craig’s wedding cake next summer.  This week’s task: piping icing.

A quick confession:  piping icing is not my forte.  I do most of my design work with fondant, partially so I don’t have to pipe icing.  So I was more than a little concerned stepping up to a set of cupcakes last night to work on piping.  Which means I was also pleasantly surprised when I put down the icing bags and tips to discover that I can pipe icing.  Of course, now the next step is roses….gulp…wish me luck.

Leave a Reply

