The Craft Project

The First Images of Yukon Ho

Miles Canyon

I’m working on inching my way out of the hibernation of the holidays with this blog post as a first step.  I wanted to take the opportunity to wish you all Merry Christmas and Happy New Year and to share with you a few pieces from my upcoming show, Yukon Ho, which opens on January 11th at Yukon Artists @ Work.  I still have a lot of work to do before the show opens but at least I can give you a first few quick glimpses.

Lupins in the Spring

This piece was actually inspired by one of my mixed media students.  She was enamoured with tissue paper during our class and it gave me a bit of a brainwave that I could create birch trees with tissue paper.

The Dredge

This piece with the dredge and gold panner also relied heavily on tissue paper.  I was able to create the dredge piles with crumpled tissue paper.

The Winter Cabin

This piece took me back to elementary school.  I created the hills from woven paper – I’m a bit better at than I was when I was six.

Hoar Frost

And finally I wanted to show you the completed hoar frost piece which I showed you a glimpse of the in-progress piece a few weeks ago.

One comment

Leave a Reply

