The Craft Project

The New Year’s Resolutions

Resolutions

So it’s that time of year again – time to create the New Year’s Resolutions that will help guide me in 2013 (and then put them out to the world so all of you can hold me accountable).  This year’s resolutions benefited from the assistance of the wonderful iPad app, Over, which allows you to overlay typography over photos. I learned about it through the ever-fabulous Brit + Co.  And now, without further ado, the resolutions:

Friends-Resolution

I plan to fill 2013 with friends and family, both near and far.  Here’s an outline of my plans so far (I’m happy to have additional suggestions from all of you in the comments section):

  • For our friends in Whitehorse Tyler and I will start hosting a weekly board games evening – good food, good wine, and some healthy competition.  We’ll start out with the familiar standbys – Settlers of Catan, Carcassonne, Ticket to Ride, Pictionary, Clue, and Scrabble and then go from there.  What are your favourite board games?
  • In addition we’re going to start the “Science Movie Club”.  This is not as geeky as it sounds – well it is, just not in the way you think.  We will bring friends together to watch a series of Hollywood’s versions of scientifically accurate films (think Jurassic Park, The Core, Dante’s Peak, Twister, and The Day After Tomorrow).  And then we’ll connect our screenings with a bit of a drinking game – whoever catches the scientific mistake dishes out drinks to the rest of the crowd, but if they do so incorrectly they’ll take the drink themselves.  Any other movie suggestions for us?
  • For our friends not in Whitehorse we’ll going to do our best to save up our pennies to make it to some reunions (cross your fingers that our financial management skills improve).  The first possibility is later this month in Vancouver where the University of Victoria‘s School of Earth and Ocean Sciences will be hosting a meet-up at the Mineral Exploration Roundup.  The second is this summer when Field, BC where I grew up with be hosting a reunion on the large-scale (well large for a town of 300 people).
  • I’m also lucky enough to know that I can make two additional trips this year before the fall (I have two flight credits that will get me a fairly long way across the country).  One trip will be reserved for the East Coast to visit my brother Craig and his fiancee Angela – mid-summer or early fall are the leading options.  The second is still up in the air, but Montreal in March during Yukon College’s spring break is leading the way to visit my good friends Aiden, who has conquered United Nations Climate Change Conferences with me, and Kelly, who is a queen of ski and snowboard course design, neither of who I’ve seen in over two years.

Creative-Skills-Resolution

 

Although I’ve now been working as a professional artist for over two years I’m still acutely aware of how much more I need to learn (it’s a good thing I love to learn).  In order to tackle this I plan to take a bunch of art, creativity, and art business courses this year.  I’m doing an online art journal course with Kelly Kilmer this month and am seriously considering some of the programs offered by the London Art College.  Any of you out there have other suggestions of good courses to check out.

Aim-High-Resolution

This is the part of the resolutions that is designed to really challenge and push me.  Each month I will quite literally aim high with my art career.  Here are some examples of what I mean:

I can’t say with any certainty that any of these ideas will bear fruit, but I plan to be happy in the attempt (and fingers crossed that at least a few come to fruition).  I would love suggestions for other ideas – after all I have five more months of ideas to come up with.

Team-in-Training-Resolution

This one has been in the back of my mind for the last few years and this is the year I’m going to do it.  I have worked with Team in Training before – raising funds for the Leukemia & Lymphoma Society of Canada by taking part in the Honolulu Triathlon.  This year I would like to run my first marathon – to be specific the Nike Women’s Marathon in San Francisco – and I would like to do it through Team in Training Flex so that I can again raise money for cancer research.  I hope to set it up with Team in Training Flex very soon so that I can raise as many funds as possible – it would be amazing to create a set of work for an online art auction to help support these efforts.  As far as the training goes I think I’ll start off with cross-training (it’s a bit cold to run in Whitehorse right now).  I’m thinking cross-country skiing, can can dancing, swimming and time on my bike trainer (although if any Whitehorse people want to drag me to the gym with them or get me into other fun sports I’m open to suggestions).  Then I’ll start running again in a few months.  If my knees continue to hold out I think a full marathon is doable, if my knees aren’t so thrilled with me (from my past rugby and skiing injuries) then a half-marathon will fit the bill.

Well there you have it.  Wish me luck!  What are your 2013 New Year’s resolutions?

5 comments

  1. Jada

    Very inspiring amber! I love the goals! And I’m going to get my iPad to check out the “over” app as we speak! Good luck with all u do and hope to see u at a board game night in the future!

  2. Pingback: Running and Creating Art to Beat Cancer | The Craft Project

  3. Pingback: Looking Back to 2013 | The Craft Project

Leave a Reply

