The Craft Project

Steampunk Costume

Steampunk-costume

I’m so thrilled to announce that I’ve made it through the audition round and into the main competition for season 15 of So You Think You’re Crafty.  I’m very excited.  Thank you everyone who took the time to vote for myself and my fellow crafters.  Now that the list of ten crafters moving forward in the competition has been announced I can officially tell you that my entry was the steampunk costume.  Thank you to Tyler Kuhn for the fabulous photography, Kutters Hairstyling for the amazing updo, and the Yukon Transportation Museum for the perfect setting for a photo shoot.  I already had the skirt, shirt and boots in my closet when I started putting this together.  I created the corset, mask, necklace, bracelet, tights, garter, flask, and hair pins to complete the ensemble.

Steampunk-costume-collage

Round One of So You Think You’re Crafty opens on March 25th with Spring-themed crafts (I’ve just about finished my piece for this round and I’m so excited to share it with all of you then).  In the meantime I promised you an extended set of photos of my audition entry once I could tell you what it was, and I don’t like to break my promises…so I’m releasing additional photos of the costume here for all of you to enjoy.

Steampunk-costume-details

In addition, after you took the time to vote a number of you approached me asking if you were correct in guessing that I had created this costume.  The follow-up question seemed to invariably be: “how did you make the mask?”  And so as a present to all of you I will create and post a tutorial on how to create the mask later today for all of you.  Keep your eyes peeled for it.

Steampunk-on-Train

 

Mask-and-Necklace

 

Close-up-on-bench

 

Without-mask

One comment

  1. Pingback: Steampunk Mask Tutorial | The Craft Project

Leave a Reply

