The Craft Project

Butterflies Tutorial

Butterflies-in-the-Wind

To create my “Butterflies in the Wind” project that won week three (Scraptastic) of So You Think You’re Crafty you will need:

  • A picture frame with a wide mat and the glass removed (mine was 16″ x 20″)
  • A piece of good watercolour paper
  • A selection of paint chips in a range of colours (grab them from the paint section of a hardware store)
  • Black and white sharpie paint pens
  • Thin wire
  • A strong glue, like E-6000
  • Three sizes of butterfly punches (2″ wide, 1″ wide, 1/4″ wide)
  • A bone folder helps, but isn’t necessary

Piles-of-Butterflies

I started with punching out a wide range of butterflies from paint chips.  I wanted the piece to be very 3D so I folded each of the largest size of butterflies in half with the bone folder.  To add a bit more visual interest to the piece I added geometric patterns with alternating white and black paint pens to one half of each of the larger butterflies.

Wire-on-Frame

I put the watercolour paper and mat into the frame after I pulled the glass out of it.  I wanted to extend the piece beyond the rigid boundary of the frame so I twisted a some wire into tight curls and glued them to the back of the frame, with the plan of using these as extra bases for the butterflies.

Arranging-Butterflies

I then arranged the butterflies in a swirl across the entire piece – working through a range of colours.  I set the butterflies in a swirl that started on the wires and went across the piece, touching the paper, mat, and frame throughout the piece.  I used E-6000 glue to put secure them in place.

Butterflies-on-Frame

I hope you enjoy making your version as much as I did with this one.  Click here to vote on this week’s crafts (the themes is Kids Can Do).

Butterfly-Artwork

One comment

Leave a Reply

