The Craft Project

Iginla Hockey Jersey Cake

Iginla-Cake

I spent yesterday putting together a cake for an eleven year old’s birthday.  His favourite hockey player is Iginla, so I sculpted a Pittsburgh Penguins jersey out of cake for him.  The cake was huge – they wanted it to feed thirty people – and they wanted it all piped, no fondant – so by the time I was finished my hand was very tired (filling a cake that size with drop stars takes a lot of frosting).

Iginla-Jersey-Cake

I loved the finished product, and so did the birthday boy.  All he said when he walked into my house with my dad to pick it up was “wow”.

Vanilla-Extract

In the process of making a cake this large I went through huge amounts of vanilla.  Given that more and more people are asking me to create cakes I figured I needed a more affordable way to get my vanilla extract – so I decided to make my own.  You can do it too: all you need to do is to put two vanilla beans into 250 mL of vodka and then forget about them in a cool dark place for 5 months.  Check back in 5 months and I’ll let you know how it worked.

One comment

Leave a Reply

