The Craft Project

Celebrating the Bard’s Birth

Midsummers-Night-Dream

Today is the 450th anniversary of Shakespeare’s birth and around the world celebrations are taking place.  The Globe Theatre in London is taking a production of Hamlet on the road to every country in the world over the next two yearsComedySportz in Los Angeles will present Chickspeare, an all-female improv Shakespeare-style play; and here in the Yukon I’ve pulled together my own little tribute to the Bard’s big day.

Romeo-and-Juliet

Shakespeare is one of my all-time favourite writers and I have been meaning to put together a series of collage works inspired by his plays for a long time now (and ultimately pitch prints and cards of the final product to my all-time favourite Shakespeare company, Bard on the Beach – but I digress, that’s phase two).  To mark today’s festivities I started with two of my favourites – A Midsummer Night’s Dream and Romeo and Juliet).  I think I’ll start on Hamlet, The Tempest, and Macbeth next while working at the Yukon Artists @ Work Gallery this weekend.  What do you think and which play would you like to see me tackle next?

Leave a Reply

