The Craft Project

Filling the Pantry

Fall-canning

I got a little ambitious with the canning this fall.  It started with 31 pounds of tomatoes and just spiraled out of control from there.  The good news is I was able to make use of the produce from our garden (and my parent’s and my father-in-law’s) and we now have a full pantry.  And of course that we have a pile of yummy food for the winter: tropical salsa; fruit salsa; bruschetta; antipasto; Italian tomato sauce; tomato jelly; red pepper and garlic jelly; pickled onions; pickled carrots; and rhubarb bbq sauce.

Canning

Canning-jars

5 comments

      • I do use a water bath for many foods but some things ( salsas etc.) I’m a bit unsure of. I did a gorgeous wild cranberry chutney, some pickled beets & canned plums but froze my tomato sauce because I am not sure of pH balance.

Leave a Reply

