The Craft Project

When Lego meets Van Gogh

IMG_0980

I found some time recently to pull together a personal, just-for-fun art project: a Lego version of Vincent Van Gogh’s Starry Night.  It was a wonderful experience (despite the sore thumbs resulting from assembly) as it combined two things I love: the art of Vincent Van Gogh (I love his work so much that I dragged my husband and a crew of friends to Arles in Southern France – not that they were complaining – to hang out where he created so many of my favourite works) and Lego (when other kids were answering “ballerina” and “fire fighter” to the question “what do you want to be when you grow up?”, I answered “Lego designer” without fail – I even wrote them a letter to ask how to become one, which they answered, laying out all the steps to accomplish it for me; step 1: become an artist, check!).  It was just also really refreshing to make a piece of art for art’s sake, instead of as part of my career.  Plus, my 16 month old daughter thinks it’s the coolest thing ever, especially now that it’s on the wall, and unlike the other art displayed in the house, she’s allowed to touch it as much as she wants.

IMG_1190

Leave a Reply

